Party leaders cast their ballots in Dutch elections

Geert Wilders casting his vote in The Hague, 15 Mar 2017
Geert Wilders casting his vote in The Hague, 15 Mar 2017Photo: @geertwilderspvv / Twitter

Many of the political party leaders already cast their votes in the parliamentary election in the Netherlands this morning. D66 leader Alexander was the first party leader to do so. He voted in his hometown of Wageningen, NOS reports.

According to Pechtold, today is an exciting day. "There are four parties that can become the biggest and of those the D66 is the most progressive", he said to the broadcaster. He plans to hand out some more flyers during the day.

ChristenUnie leader Gert-Jan Segers cast his vote at the smallest polling station in the country - the living room of Wim and Elly Westhoff in Marle. 

VVD leader and current Prime Minister Mark Rutte cast his vote in The Hague around 10:00 a.m. He called on everyone to vote. "That is a privelage many people fought for", he said to Het Parool. Rutte also said that he is optimistic about a high turnout due to the nice spring weather. 

PVV leader Geert Wilders voted at De Walvis primary school in The Hague. PvdA leader Lodewijk Asscher voted at the polling station KHL Koffiehuis in Amsterdam-Oost. 50Plus leader Henk Krol voted in Eindhoven and PvdD leader Marianne Thieme voted at a primary school in Maarssen. CDA leader Sybrand Buma voted at St Maartensschool in Voorburg.