Geert Wilders voted Netherlands Politician of the Year

Geert Wilders Purmerend borders closed
Geert Wilders in Purmerend handing out flyers against the opening of an asylum reception center there. Oct. 6, 2015 (photo: PVV)Geert Wilders in Purmerend handing out flyers against the opening of an asylum reception center there. Oct. 6, 2015 (photo: PVV)

Geert Wilders was named the Netherlands' politician of the year for 2015 in EenVandaag's annual election. The PVV leader received 25 percent of the 37 thousand votes. GroenLinks leader Jesse Klaver came in second place with 14 percent of the votes and Finance Minister Jeroen Dijsselbloem (PvdA) came in third with 9 percent.

Most of the respondents who voted for Wilders mentioned his actions surrounding the refugee crisis as the reason. "As only politician, he has an eye for the concerns that many Dutch people have about asylum seekers", one respondent wrote, according to EenVandaag. Not everyone who voted for him agrees with his positions. Several respondents wrote that they find his positions extreme or unrealistic, but voted for him because at least he's saying something. "I do not always agree with his tone, but the rest often keep silent, which is worse", according to one respondent.

While Wilders got support for saying what everyone is thinking, Klaver got support for his clear ideals and vision and because he wholeheartedly defends unpopular viewpoints. "Klaver is the least afraid of the voters. He dares to take responsibility for ideals, also when large groups of voters disagree with him", one respondent stated.

Many of Dijsselbloem's voters attributes the peace in Dutch and European politics to him. They also believe that Dijsselbloem's actions as Dutch Minister of Finance and Eurogroup president steered the Netherlands and Europe through the financial crisis.

Here follows the list of the Netherlands' top 10 politicians of 2015, along with the percentage of votes they received.

1.  Geert Wilders, PVV 25%
2. Jesse Klaver, GroenLinks 14%
3. Jeroen Dijsselbloem, PvdA 9%
4. Klaas Dijkhoff, VVD 6%
5. Mark Rutte, VVD 5%
6. Lodewijk Asscher, PvdA 4%
6. Sybrand Buma, CDA 4%
6. Alexander Pechtold, D66 4%
6. Emile Roemer, SP, 4%
10. Pieter Omtzigt, CDA 3%

Geert Wilders was also voted politician of the year in 2010 and 2013. Last year's winner was Frans Timmermans, former Minster of Foreign Affairs and current Vice President of the European Commission.